jump to navigation

Your rested bonus has expired July 2, 2009

Posted by rusquel in General.
Tags: ,
trackback

I have missed the rested bonus, and the little purple numbers of experience popping up on my screen after each kill/quest/discovery, ever since I dinged 80 on my death knight. He’s currently 19,345 points on his way to 81, and looks to stay there until WoW 4.0 or whenever Blizzard decide to start the treadmill to 90.

So what now? I’ve been 80 for almost a month now. Done all the Heroics, got some loot, missed out on some more. Sunk a cool 5k just to fly around Northrend at speeds greater than retarded snail, then another 1k to dual-spec. Got the Bronze Drake off Heroic CoS to look a bit nicer when I fly off Dun Nifflehem for my daily cash grind. Decided I actually enjoy PvP and picked up a full set of gear costing thousands of honour, and countless days spamming Alterac Valley repeatedly. Got the [Epic] achievement, and a full complement of shiny purples. But now what?

I have stayed in my leveling guild, more because of the people there who I enjoy playing with, although they have began to drift off to raiding guilds. It’s not a particularly great guild, but there are some excellent players approaching 80 and it’s fun to have a casual run with people you’re familiar playing with, rather than take your chances with a PuG. Heroics have become a mindless farming exercise when I’m DPS, just spin the mousewheel and watch everything die – but nothing beats the thrill of seeing people experience Nexus for the first, or talking someone through Utgarde Keep. I certainly wish I’d had some of that when I’d hit the Heroics for the first time.

But that seems about as far as I’ll go. I’m a DK after all, and even after speccing Tank to make myself ‘more marketable’, everyone is full-up on DKs. It’s a bummer to see people you’ve mentored rush through a couple of Heroics, get some PvP welfare gear and jump into the same raiding guild you applied for, because they’re not a DK. I guess that’s the payoff for skipping 55 levels, although that amounts to like 2 million exp, compared to the 35 million exp you need to go from 55 to 80.

So looks like it’s time to go back to the drawing board. I don’t mind really. After beginning to tank on my DK, I realised how much I missed the adrenaline rush from that, so I’ve fired up my pre-DK main, a prot warrior. I actually enjoy leveling him as prot. The Significant Other started at the same time as me, playing as a druid before we both rerolled DKs, so she can kitty-DPS and heal, while I keep the threat. Works out well, and this way I won’t get to 80 and be like “How do I tank?”.

We’re also levelling some pallies. I have fallen in love with this class – they are simply unstoppable. And since we’re leveling a pair of them together, the synergy is particularly awesome.

Will they ever raid? Eventually, I hope so. Perhaps our DKs might even get a chance if we’re particularly lucky. But dusting off an old alt/main and starting some new journeys has been much more fulfilling than standing in Dalaran waiting for friends to come online, or PuGs to form up. I want to experience some more classes and different playstyles. The patch 3.2 changes will certainly help with that. Yesterday was the last time I will ever have to do the mindlessly repetitive quests in Duskwood (which generally involve traversing the entire zone for about 10 levels’ worth of quests) on foot! When my alts hit Outland they will be able to fly immediately, rather than 2 levels after they hit Northrend. When I finally have a ‘stable’ of 80s, they will be able to get into dungeons, and get more/better gear from them so they are better prepped for raiding. All good things to look forward to!

